Fish & Co.’s The Best Fish & Chips In Town, Prawns Fettucine with Creamy Mushroom Sauce, and Bbq Ribs with Onion Rings

As I was saying in the entry before this one, I took my momma out to Fish & Co. to celebrate her birthday last week.

Having passed by this restaurant both here and in Singapore many times (due to The Cafe Cartel), I'm glad that we finally had a chance to savor some meals at the establishment.

Cute fish shaped cooling wooden rack.

Going out for lunch during weekdays is such a joy. It heightens the intimacy with the person you eat out with.

They had a bottle of this on every table in the restaurant. I regret not being able to taste it though. Oh well, there's always next time!;)

I love how their interior has a cozy and charming feel.

I'm a sucker for signature utensils.

The Best Fish & Chips In Town (Just for me size)

It's a Fish & Co. classic dish served with the bistro's signature lemon butter sauce. (P225) 5 out of 5 on the DO scale.

The fish in itself was such a play on different textures: the inside was almost melt-in-your-mouth delicate and the outside had the right amount of crisp. Actually, when I looked closely at the piece of seafood, I was able to discern certain marks of the griddle on the fish which gave it a sort of home-y and rustic feel.

The plate in itself was very well-seasoned, from the fries to the lemon butter sauce. You see, being a fan of many different sauces, I sort of raised an eyebrow upon seeing the singular strip of sauce on top of the fish. After tasting it though, I was happy to note that the serving of sauce was perfect, no more and no less. Trust me, I still can’t get over this. It’s that crucial of a fact for me. Haha!

Fish & Co. thrives on the saying that goes, “One bite ‘n you’re hooked”. I think it’s pretty safe to say that this dish fit that phrase to the T.

Prawns Fettucine with Creamy Mushroom Sauce

(P595) 4 out of 5 on the DO scale.

Noodles were al dente, as they should always be, and the sauce had a good creamy consistency. The dish sort of reminded me of a twist on the famous Carbonara that everyone knows and loves. The twist, of course, being the mushrooms which gave an earthy flavor to the plate. Yes, I’m pretty biased. I really like mushrooms in my food.

In all honesty, I would have given this dish a higher grade had it not been served with overcooked prawns. Too bad. It was the only disappointment for me.

Bbq Ribs With Onion Rings (Just for me size)

The dish can be served with waffle fries instead of onion rings, depending on the customer's preference. (P445) 5 out of 5 on the DO scale.

I’d peg this as a masculine dish. It’s meaty, packed with flavor and well, it has bones, so it’s bound to get messy. I’m still living under the perception that the best way to enjoy a meal from animal meat is to eat it using bare hands, but seeing as we were in public no less, I had to practice my knife and fork skills. Haha! 

There is absolutely nothing bad that I can say about this platter. The onion rings had a crisp shell and to my surprise, weren’t as pungent as I’d expected to be, the ribs were tender, and the sauce… Oh my goodness, I literally had to stop myself from saying “wow” out too loud.

Happy birthday, mom! Hope you liked the treats me and dad had planned for you on your special day!

We’re definitely coming back to Fish & Co. for more gastronomical feasts soon! Maybe I might even sign up for one of their Bistro cards the next time I’m there… I have so much love for the establishment, their staff and their menu right now. It’s insane!

1 comment

Leave a Reply

