Garlic Liver Spread

At present, this would have to be my second attempt at whipping something up in the kitchen. Before I go on, I’d like to say that I am fully aware of the fact that my title for this entry might scare a few readers away, and I’m fine with it because I can’t blame them. Honestly, when I came across the term Garlic Liver Spread while searching online for new things to try and make, I was repulsed. For one, I don’t eat liver. Coming from a country who’s localized version of pasta is pancit and its many toppings such as liver, I’ve always been the kind of person who picks through her food, carefully taking away every bit of the animal part as possible. Another reason for my feeling toward the spread is that I find Garlic one of the most tedious things to work with because of the smell it leaves on my hands. I mean, the aroma in the kitchen? That’s absolutely fine! But the putrid smell of raw garlic infused human oil on my fingers, it’s a whole other story altogether. It’s such a pungent stink that not even three washes with soap can overpower it.

So now I’m left with the question of why and how I found it in myself to do this in the first place. It’s basically this; I went into this thing of making my own little masterpieces with one thing in mind. That being the opportunity of accepting a challenge.

As many of my readers and friends would know, I’m really more of a critic than that of a chef. I mean, realistically speaking, I’d rather eat than cook for a living. I could go on and on about that statement, but it would be a different story, so I’ll save that for another day. Every time I try and concoct something which in my case is out of the ordinary, I’m basically pushing myself to the edge of my comfort zone. Taking that into perspective, I was basically in the reason of challenging myself with this part of my blog. So I thought why not go all out and make something in an effort to counter my negative notions of some ingredients.

Liver spread, cream cheese, pepper, mayonnaise, cream, garlic, and soy sauce.

Truth be told, I was relieved when I saw that cream cheese was an important element of the spread. It sort of served as my safety net. My theory was if I didn’t like what I had at the end of the recipe, I’d scoop loads of cream cheese on it to counter the bad taste.

Mix all of the ingredients together and voila!

Garlic Liver Spread on Toasted Bread with Black Olives and Red Bell Peppers

In all honesty, I actually liked the outcome of this recipe. I even have a stock of the spread in my fridge. Haha! It just goes to show that a little challenge goes a long way.;)

Tips:

1. I’ll admit. The spread won’t look appealing at first. STICK WITH IT, DON’T GIVE UP, AND DON’T THROW IT AWAY!

2. Be creative with how you present your food. The more you like what you see, the more you’ll be inclined to enjoy it.

3. Use light cream, sugar-free whole wheat bread, and light cream cheese if you’re health conscious.

Leave a Reply

