Italianni’s Baked Ravioli, Three Mushroom Bruschetta, and Salmon Carpaccio

Before I begin uploading snippets of how I spent Christmas Eve and day with my family, I think I should post this food review entry first. I did go to the restaurant two days before Christmas anyway.

Some of my friends refer to the day of December 23rd as the eve of Christmas Eve. It’s pretty funny because I bore witness to their tweets displaying their panic towards the holiday rush, all the presents to give and their lack thereof. I, on the other hand, had only a couple of errands to do that day– none of them involving the actual purchase of a gift. Okay, so maybe I had my mom’s present gift wrapped but I don’t think it counts. Do you?

The day started with me dropping my gift off at Scribe, going to Fully Booked to get the book I had previously looked for in five bookstores and finally found in Eastwood, mentally stopping myself from giving in to the myriad of food stalls in the second floor of the mall, actually giving in to the temptations and buying a blueberry macaroon (that was delicious by the way), and meeting up with Maronne for a lunch date.

Speech impaired day with Maronne. Haha! We always tend to be prone to dyslexia whenever we're with each other.

Pre Christmas hair cut in the works.

We were saving our stomachs for a dinner later that day so we opted to splurge on appetizers for lunch instead. I don’t think we expected to be filled after three dishes of them though. Haha, good job, Italianni’s!

Baked Ravioli (P425)

4.5 out of 5 on the DO scale

Chesse-filled ravioli with mozzarella cream, drizzled with Pomodoro sauce and basil pesto.

Just when I thought cheese couldn’t get any better, I was given a dish with mozzarella cream. I won’t even begin to start describing how truly mind blown I was for fear that I might not do it justice. Instead, I’ll move on to the ravioli, which had a slight crunch on the sides. It was quite an enjoyable experience slicing the ravioli to take a peek at the hidden cheesy and stringy treasure inside.

Three Mushroom Bruschetta (P395)

1.5 out of 5 on the DO scale

A trio of mushrooms sauteed in garlic, olive oil on Tuscan toast. Sprinkled with mozzarella cheese and baked to a golden brown finish.

Although I’m quite the mushroom aficionado, I don’t think I’ve ever actually been able to taste and feel the distinction of a mushroom’s gills on a plate. That’s probably why I still opted to give this dish a spot on my do list. But other than that, me and Maronne found the mushrooms to be rubbery. In my opinion, that’s what led to the platter’s downfall. “It’s not that bad, but it’s not good either.”

Salmon Carpaccio (P550)

5 out of 5 on the DO scale

Sliced fresh salmon fillet with cherry tomatoes, capers, basil pesto, black olives, and tomato relish.

In between bites of the Baked Ravioli and the Three Mushroom Bruschetta, a plate of this orangey pink vision arrived. The timing was perfect because it served as a palate cleanser to our previous dishes. The refreshingly cool fillets garnished with a hint of the basil pesto and with a bit of the tomato relish were just so perfect together. The flavors were incredibly balanced. It made me want to kick myself for almost convincing Maronne to order something else when she said that she was craving for salmon.

The book I'd been searching for for days and a gift from my skinny red haired friend.

Dates with Maronne are always fun. We find ourselves constantly laughing at the banter we throw one another. Goodness, will I miss her when I leave for Singapore! I don’t think I’ll be able to come back in time to watch her perform as Ivy in blueREPERTORY’s Bare, so I’m hoping all the pasalubong I’ll get for her will make up for it. Heehee! Break legs, Macaroni!

Leave a Reply

