Pulang Mangga

I don’t like how you’ve managed to weave your way into one of my favorite spots. This used to be where I’d gush about you to my friends. This used to be one of my happy places, where I could shut out everything problematic with a bowl of froyo in one hand and a red spoon in the other. Now that things have ended and words are still left unsaid – which I don’t know is a good thing or not – I can’t help but feel like you’ve tainted my sanctuary.

Perhaps it’s the way I look over at the seats I used to occupy and still see my past self. So happy, so innocent… So trusting. Or maybe it’s the fact that I’ve been hearing nothing but sad songs the past few minutes. Come to think of it, I don’t even think they played happy tunes here before. Maybe I’m just noticing the melancholic notes now.

It’s stupid really. Trivialities such as places shouldn’t affect me this much. For the record, you haven’t even physically set foot here. I’m frustrated because I don’t want to make this a big thing, but my overactive hormones make me do otherwise.

Sigh. Times like these I wish I opted for a green tea latte instead. Maybe then I wouldn’t have to deal with intermittent memories in the middle of my Philosophy reading.

Leave a Reply

