Cravings’ Seared Garlic with Mushroom and Chorizo, Linguine Pesto with Grilled Chicken, Chicken ala Chef Jonathan, Baked Cherry Walnut Cheesecake, and Devil’s Food Cake

Taken a week before my grandma was brought to the emergency room. She’s back in her house now. Thanks to all those who saw my Tweets and prayed with me and my family during her 6 day stay in the hospital.:)

Scene upon arriving for brunch…

And scene upon leaving. The place filled up pretty fast.

Fancy some to go with your meal?

mom and grandma

Smiling despite having an empty stomach. Haha!

Contrary to the look on my face, I actually enjoyed the unlimited soup and salad offer of Cravings.

And now we move on to the food…

Seared Garlic with Mushroom and Chorizo (P185) 3 out of 5 on the DO scale.

Bouncy mushrooms mixed in with a few sharp bites of chorizo? Yes please. Unfortunately though, I feel the garlic could have been given a stronger flavor in the dish.

Linguine Pesto with Grilled Chicken (P225)

4 out of 5 on the DO scale

Oddly and not to mention pleasantly enough, the chicken reminded me of Tinola – a boiled chicken dish served in a broth. It was moist and tender from steeping in the pasta’s olive oil. Though not a stunner at first bite, this dish gets better with each forkful.

Chicken ala Chef Jonathan with unlimited salad and soup (P335)

3.5 out of 5 on the DO scale

It’s never a good thing when an entree’s side dishes are enjoyed far more than the main itself. However moist and tender the chicken may have been, it simply delivered less than my standards for a dish boasting of a honey-glazed roasted chicken with Rosemary and mushroom sauce. Maybe next time, Chef Jonathan. Maybe next time.

Baked Cherry Walnut Cheesecake (P165) 5 out of 5 on the DO scale.

Forgive the uneven layers of the crust and believe me when I say that this cake will make you wonder why blueberry is the norm for cheesecakes. Just look at that wisp of baked cherry on the top. It’s got a homemade charm to it and tastes heavenly too. That together with the bits of walnut enveloped in the cheesecake and the chocolate base makes for one delightful dessert indeed!

A favorite among me, my mom, and my grandma, we couldn’t stop raving about the cake. We loved it so much that we had to ask if Cravings produced bigger servings of it, which they do at a price of P960, if I’m not mistaken. I’m thinking about getting one for my birthday next month. Definitely willing to risk my diet for another another plate of this!

Devil’s Food Cake (P140)

4 out of 5 on the DO scale

This dark chocolate cake even looks naughty with its marshmallow icing spikes. It’s a messy little thing always leaving extra icing on the plate, which always gets my obsessive compulsive nature – make that my gluttonous self – scraping the remains with my fork and licking it clean.

There are traces of granulated sugar found in the icing and although many would say that it is a bad thing, I’d like to think that it was the complete opposite – for this dish at least. I only wish the sponge cake would’ve been more decadent and the coffee custard more present.

Cravings
Eastwood Mall
Katipunan
Shangri-la Plaza Mall
Robinsons Place Manila
Festival Supermall
Fraser Place
Metrowalk

Leave a Reply

