Got my veggies covered

At the start of this year, I told myself that I’d start incorporating more greens into my diet. I was pretty darn determined to eat nothing but vegetables and fruit at the start. But I guess repressing my sweet tooth has done me more harm than good.

Anyway, let this be my way of assurance when it comes to checking another item off my 2013 resolution list.

Mary Grace Caesar Salad

Mary Grace Caesar Salad

This has to be my favorite salad to date. It’s not exactly the healthiest of its kind — what with the creamy dressing the greens are coated in — but it’s definitely a plate of comfort for me.

I remember eating this with Rika, one of my colleagues, after a meeting at Makati. We were pressed with deadlines to meet for the afternoon but were just too hungry to think.

Normally, I’d be fine with working lunches since I’d feel more productive at the end of the day… But this dish, it deserves respect. It deserves to be smiled at upon the waiter’s delivery from the kitchen to the table. It deserves to be cut and pierced with the utmost care, lest any ingredient accidentally fall off the plate. And it deserves to be savored, each bite chewed ever so slowly, enthralling the taste buds of the tongue.

Dory served with a salad to be washed down with sangria.

Dory served with a salad to be washed down with sangria.

I feel incredibly blessed with the friends I have. One of them in particular is Sasha. She prepared dinner for Pat and I before and made everything herself. Had I not had an upset stomach or been too full from countless glasses of sangria, I would’ve probably licked the plate clean.

Sasha, if you’re reading this, thanks again for being such an amazing host. Dinner was delicious and company was great as always! I miss you and the rest of the Wings Team, sweets. I really do hope we’d all get to hang out soon.

And there you have it, my two bits of evidence when it comes to eating healthy. Do follow me on Instagram (roxcideleon) if you’d like to monitor my future plates of yummy greens!

Leave a Reply

