2013 will be better.

Pardon me for the well prolonged food blogging hiatus. I’ve been going through some personal issues lately and new entries simply had to be sacrificed in the process. Oh, and let’s not forget thelast semester’s iCal, filled to the brim with deadlines to meet and midterms to study for.

As the new year starts, I think it’s time to get back on track with one of the things I love most — and not to mention, one of the things I’m most known for. I believe I’ve said one too many “I’m not food blogging this” statements whenever I’m out with friends. They already think I’ve just about lost my mind.

But before I start, I think now is just as good a time to join the bandwagon in making resolutions for the new year ahead. After all, it’s a fresh start, right? What better way to start my 2013 with than with lots of ideals, ones that I hope I’ll be able to check off my list one by one.

So without further ado, here are my 2013 goals:

1. Satisfy my 6-month long craving for Eggs Ben.
This is something I’m particularly embarrassed about. I’ve been aching for a plate of Eggs Benedict for half a year now and I still haven’t appeased my appetite. Blame it on my last minute menu changes.  Those that later turn into disappointments (most of the time). Hopefully this time, I’ll stick to my word.

2. Plan a fancy brunch or dinner party.
I’m talking Tumblr-worthy snapshots of flowers, plating arrangements, and good food. Something that would make Ina Garten proud.

3. Indulge in nail art.
As I type, I can’t help but notice how my Cotton Candy hued nails look so chic against the black keys of my MacBook. I’ve always had a thing for polished nails, always finding myself lost in the colors whenever my eyes glimpse past them. In 2013, I’m not counting on giving this habit up. In fact, I’m taking things a step higher. The next time I look, I’d like something more than a solid colored fingernail.

4. Pop open a bottle of champagne.
Just another reason to celebrate even more. Birthday celebration? Bring out the champagne! iPhone finished charging? Pour a glass of bubbly! I’m kidding of course, but you get the picture.

5. Eat more veggies.
I’ve been meaning to turn vegetarian for a while now. I just haven’t mustered up the guts to go all the way. At the moment, I’m leaning towards being pescatarian — save for a few special occasions here and there. Yes, that includes food blogging opportunities.

6. Fix my bulletin board.
I’ve an unused bulletin board trapped in the depths of our storage room for quite sometime now. No use in it going to waste!

7. Visit Universal Studios. Again.
I’ve been to the one in LA and the one in Singapore three times. I may or may not have a problem.

8. Appreciate beer.
I had a bet with a friend once about how he was going to have me love beer by the end of a drinking night. At the moment, there’s only one kind that I enjoy: Erdinger Wit. Beer loving friends, you have been challenged.

9. Invest in good quality gym clothes.
I usually stick to black and white shades whenever I work out. Perhaps it’s time to inject a bit of color in my gym attires. Can’t wait to get some threads from Nike!

10. Read more books.
Reading is one of the best forms of escapism yet. I could be settled on the couch of one of my favorite cafes, eyes going from left to right on the screen of my Kindle. But at the same time, I’d find myself walking in the Tokyo fish market care of Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential; a path lined with rows upon rows of freshly sliced tuna and oysters the size of a hand.

11. Expose myself to more feel-good movies.
This holiday break has been a dear to me, generously pouring hours of free time on my lap. Sure, my car’s still at the shop and it’s forced me to stay at home for more days than I had initially hoped, but I’ll take that as a blessing in disguise. Now I finally have time for leisure in my schedule, ones that I can spend tucked under the warmth of my comforter, with nothing but my MacBook and an entire hard drive’s worth of movies to keep me company. Oh, life is good.

12. Catch up with my NUS friends.
One of the best things about spending a semester in Singapore is the fact that it’s so near to the Philippines. I’ve been meaning to catch up with my group of brilliant beautiful friends so I’m thinking a trip back to one of the countries I consider home is in order.

_____

_________

As always, this list just wouldn’t be complete without a rundown of some restaurants I’d like to try in 2013:

1. Wafu
– Kimi-San Roll
– Ise Ebi Roll

2. Yomenya Goemon
– Mediterranean Tomato Cream Soup Spaghetti with Fresh Seafood
– Mentaiko Shrimp and Japanese Herb Ao-Shiso

3. Quiznos
– Chicken Carbonara
– Classic Club

4. Wooden Spoon
– Kare-Kare
– Stuffed Pechay

________

2012, you were a blast. You had me riding on a roller coaster of feelings — including ones I never thought I’d feel again. You have both made and broken me and until now I don’t quite know what to make of this… of all of this. One thing’s for sure though: I’m grateful. No, this isn’t your run of the mill happy-that-it’s-made-me-what-I-am-today kind of thing — although I have to admit that I am guilty of that. Now, I’m more grateful for having stories to tell. Ones that both entertain and help others and myself realize that people are never alone in their emotions, and that someone somewhere will always understand what I am going through, as I with them.

Cheers to you 2012, and hello 2013.:)

2 comments
  1. You should try TWG Salon’s Eggs Benedict! It’s delicious and while you’re at it, order their macarons and of course a pot of hot tea, 1837 Signature! 🙂

    • Oh wow, will do! Thank you so much for the recommendation!:) I’m even more excited to go to TWG now.

Leave a comment